Toowoomba Regional Council was created by the amalgamation of 8 councils on 15 March 2008. The councils were Clifton Shire Council, Crows Nest Shire Council, Cambooya Shire Council, Jondaryan Shire Council (Oakey), Millmerran Shire Council, Pittsworth Shire Council, Rosalie Shire Council (Goombungee) and Toowoomba City Council.

The amalgamation was the result of an amendment to the Local Government Act 1993 and based on the recommendation of the Local Government Review Commission Report of 2007.