Toowoomba Regional Council (TRC) this week (November 17) announced the new community members who will serve on Council’s Heritage Advisory Committee (HAC).

The appointment of Dr Anthony Simmons, Tina Mundt, Ros Scotney OAM, Helene Johnson, Eleanor Cullen, Holly Maclean, Dr Christina Amiet, Tracey McLeod, Patrick Murphy, Henry Glennie and Gary Deakin to the voluntary advisory committee was approved at TRC's November Ordinary Meeting. (* See members’ affiliations listed below)

Council in June endorsed TRC Planning and Development Committee chair Cr Megan O’Hara Sullivan as the advisory committee’s chair with additional Council representation from Cr Bill Cahill (Planning and Development Committee portfolio leader). Council’s Heritage Advisor also serves on the committee.

TRC Planning and Development Committee portfolio leader Cr Cahill said the first meeting of the new advisory committee was expected to be held in February 2021.

“The HAC has operated effectively for more than 15 years, during which time it has provided the community, professionals and regional organisations opportunities to advise Council on cultural heritage issues across the Toowoomba Region,” Cr Cahill said.

“Committee members will continue to help Council promote a wider appreciation of our region’s unique heritage, whether it is our Indigenous history or the story of our post-settlement expansion.

“The HAC offers policy input to Council on development issues involving heritage sites or areas. It also offers advice to Council and the community on issues relating to heritage preservation, restoration, education and promotion.

“Council has seen increasing demand for our heritage advisory services, which underlines residents’ interest in, and appreciation for, preserving and restoring heritage features in their homes and business premises.

“The HAC also played a formative role in the preparation and publication of Council’s Toowoomba Heritage Self-Drive Tour booklet, which was released earlier this year.”

The advisory committee’s term will coincide with the current Council, ending in 2024.

Committee members:
Dr Anthony Simmons, Cultural Heritage Coordinator with the Department of Environment and Heritage Protection (Department of Environment and Science),

Tina Mundt, National Trust representative,

Historical Society representatives: Ros Scotney OAM from the Pittsworth Pioneer Village Historical Society; Helene Johnson, Yarraman and District Historical Society president and Eleanor Cullen from the Toowoomba Historical Society,

Professional representatives (including an acknowledged expert in Indigenous culture and history): Holly Maclean, Senior Heritage consultant, Urbis; Dr Christina Amiet, Senior Historian and Heritage consultant, Australian Heritage Specialists,

Tracey McLeod, Indigenous community representative,

Community representatives: Patrick Murphy, Henry Glennie and Gary Deakin.