Last Updated: Friday, 03 July 2020 12:46

The Planning and Development Committee is responsible for matters relating to development assessment, strategic land use planning and building compliance.

The Committee meets on the second Tuesday of each month at 9.00 a.m. in the Council Chambers, First Floor, City Hall, 541 Ruthven Street, Toowoomba.

All Councillors are members of the Committee.

Committee meetings are open to the public.

To access Committee Meeting Reports past the year supplied below, please contact us.


Meeting schedule

The meeting schedule can be found in our 'Council meeting structure & meeting schedule' article.


Planning and development committee documents

Meeting structure

Councillor M. O’Hara Sullivan (Chair)
Councillor W.W. Cahill  (Portfolio Leader)
His Worship the Mayor, Councillor R.P. Antonio 
Councillor G.C. McDonald
Councillor T.P. McMahon
Councillor J.J. O’Shea
Councillor K.G. Shine
Councillor N.M. Sommerfield
Councillor C.E. Taylor
Councillor M.M. Taylor
Councillor R.L. Vonhoff

Terms of reference

The Planning and Development Committee will be a standing committee of Council and these Terms of Reference will provide guidance for the matters that are to be referred to and considered by the Committee.

To consider matters relating to the Planning and Development operations of Council and make recommendations to Council on an ongoing basis.

The Committee's role is to provide ongoing leadership and deal with particular aspects of the Council's Planning and Development business, giving detailed deliberation to these matters, before making recommendations to Council.

The Committee's responsibilities include:


  Strategic Land Use Planning  


  Development Assessment  

A Portfolio Leader may be appointed by Council to assist the Committee Chair in certain responsibilities.

Membership of the Committee is to include all Councillors.

A quorum of the Committee is a majority of its members (i.e. 6).

Meeting frequency
Unless otherwise determined, the Committee will meet on the second Tuesday of each month commencing at 9.00 a.m. in the Council Chambers, City Hall, 541 Ruthven Street, Toowoomba.

Reporting requirements
The Committee is exempt from keeping minutes of its meetings, pursuant to section 272(6) of Local Government Regulation 2012.  Rather, a report including recommendations from the Committee will be presented to the next ordinary meeting of Council for consideration and deliberation.

Review of terms of reference
These terms of reference are to be reviewed from time to time, as necessary.